Job offers
Lab safety
Prof. W. A. Herrmann
Chair Representatives
Impressum & Datenschutz
Internal pages for coworkers
Home arrow Prof. W. A. Herrmann
Prof. W. A. Herrmann

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. W.A. Herrmann


Professor Herrmann mit Familie

Curriculum Vitae

(download pdf )

Born April 18, 1948 in the city of Kelheim (Bavaria) as son of the teacher Ferdinand Herrmann and his wife Maria Herrmann Married with Freya Herrmann. Five children (Florian, Isabel, Maria, Ursula, Katharina)

1967Visit of high-school (mathematics major), final examination in 1967 ("excellent")
1967 - 1970Study of chemistry at Technische Hochschule München, Fellow of the scholarship body of the German Catholic Episcopate (Cusanuswerk), final examination after 6 semesters ("excellent")
1970 - 1971Diploma thesis supervised by Professor Ernst Otto Fischer at Technische Hochschule München on PH3-complexes of transition metals
1973Ph.D. ("excellent") at the Universität Regensburg (07/26/1973) supervised by Professor Henri Brunner on "Optically Active Transition Metal Complexes with Square-Pyramidal Geometry")
1975 - 1976 Research Fellow of Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft in the laboratory of Professor P. S. Skell (Pennsylvania State University/USA)
1978 "Habilitation" on "Organometallic Syntheses with Diazoalkanes" at the Universität Regensburg
1979 Declined offer from Pennsylvania State University/USA
1979Professor at the Universität Regensburg, Institute of Inorganic Chemistry (05/15/1979)
1982Chair Professor of Inorganic Chemistry at the Universität Frankfurt/Main (01/01/1982)
1985 Chair Professor at the Technische Universität München in succession of Prof. Dr.h.c.mult. E.O. Fischer, Inorganic Chemistry (04/01/1985)
1988 & 1993
Declined offers for chair positions of Inorganic Chemistry at ETH Zürich, Switzerland
1993 Declined offer for Head position of Central Research HOECHST AG
1.1.1995President of the Technische Universität München (10/01/1995), Re-elected in 1999, 2005, 2007, 2013

 Honors and Awards

1979Chemistry Award of the Academy of Sciences at Göttingen
1979 Karl Winnacker-Fellowship of HOECHST AG (1979-1983)
1982Otto Klung-Award, Berlin
1985Arthur D. Little-Lectureship, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA
1987Leibniz-Research Award of the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft
1987Visiting Professorships at the Universities of Bordeaux and Toulouse, France
1987/88Karl-Ziegler-Visiting Professorship at the Max Planck-Institute for Coal Research (Mülheim/Ruhr)
1988Visiting Professorship at the University of Strasbourg
1989Visiting Professorship at the University of Rennes
1989 Alexander von Humboldt-Award - of the french department for science honoring his German-French cooperation
1990Elected Member of the Academy of Sciences and Literature at Mainz
1990Otto Bayer-Award of BAYER AG, Leverkusen (jointly with K. P. C. Vollhardt, Berkeley, USA)
1990Doctor honoris causa, Université Claude Bernard, Lyon, France
1991 Frontiers in Chemistry Distinguished Lectureship, Texas A & M University, College Station/Texas (USA)
1991Max Planck-Research-Award (jointly with J.-M. Basset, Lyon, France)
1992 Fellow of the Japanese Society of Promotion of Science (JSPS)
1992Sammet-Visiting Professorship of HOECHST AG at the Universität Frankfurt/Main
1993 Inauguration of the Van der Kerk-Lectureship, Rijksuniversiteit Utrecht, Netherlands
1993Seaborg Lectureship at the University of California at Berkeley, USA
1994Pino-Medal of the Società Chimica Italiana, Italy
1994Iberdrola-Visiting Professorship of the Università Alcala de Henares Madrid, Spain
1995 Member of the National Academy of Natural Researcher Leopoldina, Halle
1995Wilhelm Klemm-Award of the Gesellschaft Deutscher Chemiker
1995 Doctor honoris causa, Pannonia University of Veszprém, Hungary
1997Bundesverdienstkreuz, Republic of Germany
1999 Doctor honoris causa, University of South Carolina, Columbia, SC/USA
1999 Dr.-Arthur-Sease-Williams-Lectureship in Inorganic Chemistry, University of South Carolina, S. C. (USA)
2000 Luigi-Sacconi-Medal of the Societe Chimica Italiana (Italy)
2000Werner Heisenberg-Medal of the Alexander von Humboldt-Foundation 
2000 Officier de l‘Ordre national de l‘Honneur of the French Republic
2002Doctor honoris causa, Universidade Nova de Lisboa/Portugal
2002"Großer Ehrenteller" of the Peutinger-Collegium, Munich
2003Doctor honoris causa, Nanjing University of Science and Technology (China)
2003Doctor honoris causa, University of Rennes (France)
Pictures from the award ceremony (click to enlarge:)
2004ACS Award in Organometallic Chemistry (American Chemical Society)
2004"Initiativpreis 2004" from Stiftung Industrieforschung, Cologne (Germany)
2005Doctor honoris causa, Technical University Timisoara (Romania)
2005William Knight Lectureship, University of Ohio (USA)
2005State Constitution Silver Medal of the State of Bavaria, Munich
2006Doctor honoris causa, Texas A&M University, College Station/Texas (USA)
Pictures from the Award Ceremony (with Prof. F. A. Cotton - 3.f.r.- and University President Robert M. Gates - 1.f.r.):
Texas A&M 2006
(Zum Vergrößern klicken)
2006Doctor honoris causa, Johann Wolfgang v. Goethe University Frankfurt a. Main (Germany)
2007B Bavarian State Medal, Munich(Germany)
2008Doctor honoris causa, Bauman Moscow State Technical University (Russia)
2009Doctor honoris causa, Tiflis State University (Tiflis, Georgia)
2009University Manager of the Year
2010"Goldene Bürgermedaille" of Freising (Golden outstanding citizen award medal)
2011Member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences
2012President of the Year
2012Bavarian Maximilian Order for Science and Art
2013Doctor honoris causa, Nanyang Technological University (NTU, Singapore)
2014Gold Medal of Honor of the Administrative District of Berchtesgadener Land
2015Doctor honoris causa, Polytechnical University Bucharest (Romania)
2015Gold medal for services to the town of Garching (near Munich)
2016Honorary Citizenship of the town of Burghausen
2016Marvin D. Rausch-Lectureship in Organometallic Chemistry, Massachusetts University, Amhurst (USA)
2017Medal for the Protection of Historical Monuments, State Office for the Preservation of Historical Monuments
2017Member of the Senate of the Max Planck Society
2018Golden Ring of Honor from the county of Altötting
2019Georg Mauerer Medal in Gold of the Klinikum rechts der Isar, TUM university hospital